Uncategorized

Reviewing 2012

Happy new year everyone!

So 2012 came to an end, I saw it in sitting in a fancy-pants hotel in China. Sounds boring, eh? Perhaps, but after the year I had, celebrating the new year just wasn’t something I felt like I needed to do. 2012 was definitely one of the best years of my life, definitely the very best in regards to my art-life, that’s for sure.

10 group/two person exhibitions
My first large solo show.
Two of which were in Berlin, Germany.
5 group exhibitions I had a large hand in putting together.

An artist residency for one month in Finland at Arteles Creative Centre which was successfully funded through a Pozible campaign.
4 months of international travel/living in Berlin – Visiting other European countries and the UK and one week in China.

Living a rather unique lifestyle without a set address, living out of a bag from around August of 2011 until current, 2012 saw the very highs and some inevitable lows of living like this – but it’s opened a lot of doors to develop and re-develop ideas and relationships with people and helping a nice time overseas become a reality.
I actually have way too many people to thank for their ongoing support over the last year, it’s been an incredible adventure and I can’t wait to do it all again and more, in 2013.

Thanks so very much to Stephan Taylor for his amazing, ongoing support throughout the year. Jan James-Watfa and all the people who helped us fund our stay in Finland through our pozible campaign. Hollie Kelley, my wonderful and very talented special lady-friend. House of Bricks crew, Michael at Paradise Hills for his ongoing support and encouragement, Be Free and Suki, Leigh G and Luke Batch, Greg Barnes and all the Collingwood fellas and misses for the good times! James R and James S for too many coffees and countless hours of chats and driving aimlessly around.
My new Berlin family – Jess “Little Rat” Balla, Van-breezy, Audie Hilcock and of course, my boy -e Jak Rapmund (the pimpest of the pimps).
I’m very sorry if I’ve missed anyone out in this list, I hope you know who you are and I hope I’ve expressed my gratitude for you – I love all of you and you’re amazing and I hope that now I’m back in the country, I’ll see your faces real soon for a pint.

I’ll leave it at that for now – thank you so much once again to everyone for your on going support and love and late night hang-outs and countless coffees – means the world to me!

Shall we raise a glass to 2013? See you all soon.

Standard

Leave a Reply

