Uncategorized

Surviving Alone in Alaska

Vice’s “Surviving Alone in Alaska” is something else – well worth the hour of watching.
This is definitely something that I’d like to do some day, until then though, I will carry on using my macbook and iphone and eating easily from supermarkets and what not – the very civilised western world.
I think that I draw from these ideals shown in this video, it makes me really wonder how much of these type of survival skills are lost in our day and age. What if the world flipped on it’s arse one day and we had to live like this – how many of us would survive?
It’s really interesting listening to Heimo talk about living out there and his philosophy on life, I think I share a bit of his ideals, but I don’t know if I myself could actually do what he’s doing – I believe I could, but then in saying that, it’s too easy to just say it – when it came down to it, I really wonder what it would be like, the intensity of isolation for that amount of time, the dangers of living out there, the hunting (and the need to hunt) and just always being on your toes because there’s goddamn bears roaming about your cabin! Crazy.

Please press play and gain a little insight into the “last man standing in 19 million acres of Alaskan wilderness. His neighbors are polar bears and caribous. Say good bye to civilization and see how they do it in the arctic circle on the last frontier in America.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

