Uncategorized

When I thought I was a photographer.

I used to have one of the old Deviant Art accounts, back in the day – I logged into it out of interest to see what’s happening over there and to my surprise, it’s still in existence. Wow! Here’s a few photos from there..


(this one feat. a ridiculous watermark)

(There’s a few of these. My friend Kylie kindly donated her arm/shoulder as a canvas for a bit of a canvas/photo shoot)

(Abandoned buildings, urban exploration, was a definite passion since around 2002 – here’s one of an abandoned school in Moe, Victoria. )

Um, that’s it for now.

It’s funny; when I first picked up a camera in High School, I did have a massive passion for it, took Photography as a subject, but hated it learning about it – Like, assignments that I had to do, learning how a camera worked, I was never interested in any of that, so naturally I failed. Almost the second I finished high school, I had a video camera in my hand and filmed everything. Then that moved on into purchasing a digital SLR. I’ve always and still am always documenting everything – even if it’s just a quick snap on my phone.

But photography as an art form, eventually broke my heart – I felt very passionate about a few different things with it and for some reason, it was enough for me to be like “I can’t do this anymore..” I really won’t go into it, because it’s useless and stupid.

I don’t even really know where I was going with all of that, lost the old train of thought – I guess it’s funny though, to look back on something and be like “Man, I thought I was taking some SERIOUS photos” and was kind of convinced that I was going to make a living out of it. Maybe I would have had I of stuck with it, or maybe switching solely to drawing and painting was always going to happen and taking photos was always going to be a little thing on the side. Either way, great!

Standard

2 thoughts on “When I thought I was a photographer.

  1. jamesrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr says:

    most of those photos are actually pretty pretty pretty good.

Leave a Reply

